When a Stranger Calls

Last 24 February, I woke up with a fever and headache. I decided to call in sick. It was 8am. Almost four hours later, my phone rang. Thinking it was a work call, I rushed to get my phone. To my surprise, the screen was flashing an unknown number. I answered and said hello.

“Hello. Is this Firas? Si Camille po ito. Gusto po sana namin mag-donate ng school supplies. Pwede po ba namin kayo kitain mamayang hapon?”

(“Hello. Is this Firas? This is Camille. We would like to donate school supplies. Can we meet with you this afternoon?”)

It was a no-brainer, really.

when-a-stranger-calls

I knew I wasn’t feeling well. I also knew that I couldn’t say no to Camille.

Before the phone call, Camille and Kath were strangers. Now, I get to call them my friends.

Growing up, I was told to never talk to strangers. However, I realized that life won’t open up if I don’t. I always say that I believe in the kindness of strangers, and now, I have proof!

Thank you so much, Camille and Kath!

Here’s to education and beyond!

P.S. If the title of this post made you think about the film (the 1979 version, of course!), here’s a high five!

Leave a Reply

