Life Opens Up When You Do

Last July 2016, I volunteered to dance in our Firm’s anniversary celebration. I just started working for the Firm back then, and I still can’t believe I had the courage to perform in front of 6,000 people.

All I knew was I wanted to meet new people, expand my network in the Firm and hopefully gain friends along the way.

Thankfully, I was able to do all three.

Everyone, meet Karla, who is on the left.

Capture

Karla and I, along with three other staff, were part of the sixties dance segment. We danced – drum roll, please – the Twist. We obviously bonded during rehearsals, but when she asked for my advice on fashion and beauty, she became more than just a co-volunteer. Unfortunately, we lost touch after the anniversary celebration. We work on different floors, so we don’t see each other that often.

Eight months later, I receive a message in the office. “Hi, Firas! This is Karla. Magdo-donate ako ng school supplies. Saan located ‘yung office mo?” (“Hi, Firas! This is Karla! I’ll be donating school supplies. Where is your office located?”)

I was so surprised and moved when I read her message. I was reminded of the rippling effect of kindness. She also told me that she asked some of her friends to help out! With that, Karla, Joanna (the one in the middle), Krystel, Ruth, Dawn, Mara and Leanne, I thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

Here’s to education and beyond!

P.S. I believe that life is about the choices we make. If I didn’t volunteer to perform, I wouldn’t have met Karla.

Leave a Reply

